Back to Napoleon's Last Battles Menu

Optional Rules

[12.1] Combined Arms Attack

A Combined Arms Attack is an attack against a single hex in which at least one infantry, cavalry and artillery unit (bombarding or adjacent) is participating. In such an attack, the final odds column is increased by one (shifted to the right) full column; a '1-1' attack becomes a '2-1' attack, and a '6-1' remains a '6-1.'

[12.2] Imperial Guard

This rule does not apply to the campaign game

The infantry of the Imperial Guard were elite troops thrown into battle only at the critical point to break the back of enemy resistance. Much of the French Army's morale depended upon the belief that the guard was unstoppable. If any infantry unit of the Imperial Guard is involved in an attack during the French Player's Combat Phase, and the result of that attack is Ae, Ar or Ex, the French Demoralization Level is immediately reduced by 20 Points.


If the specific attack made by the French Imperial Guard infantry succeeds in demoralizing or disintegrating either the Anglo-Allied or Prussian Armies, then the French demoralization is not reduced, no matter what the Combat Result.


Units of the Imperial Guard are identified by a Command designation of 'Gd'.

[25.1] Cavalry Retreat Before Combat

This rule only applies to the campaign game

Cavalry was particularly well suited as a delaying and screening force at this time. Any Cavalry or Horse Artillery unit which is attacked may retreat one hex before combat as in the retreat after combat rules (see 7.4). This retreat option is not available if the attacking force includes any cavalry units. It does not allow an enemy advance (7.5). The computer logic always retreats these units for the non-phasing player.

[25.2] French Late Start

Not used in the computer editions of the game.

[25.3] Cavalry Impetus and Control

This rule only applies to the campaign game

During the Campaign both sides had problems with Cavalry actions becoming uncontrolled and ultimately wasteful. In any Combat situation in which Cavalry is involved, and in which the 'attacking' cavalry might normally exercise the option to advance after Combat, a die must be rolled.

On a roll of '1' or '2' the Player maintains control and may advance any unit type, or not advance at all, as he sees fit.

On die rolls of '3' or '4', no advance of any kind may take place by any unit type.

On die rolls of '5' or '6' one cavalry must advance after combat. The advance may never violate any restrictions of case (7.5). One attacking cavalry unit is selected at random by the computer logic to advance after combat. No other units may advance after combat.

[25.4] Leader Advance Advantage

This rule only applies to the campaign game

In the standard game Rules only one unit may advance after Combat. If a Leader occupies a hex with two Friendly Combat Units, then both units may advance. Both units which advance must come from the same hex and they must fulfill all requirements for advance after combat. If this option is taken, the Leader which is stacked with these units must also advance into the vacated hex. If optional rule 25.3 is also being used, it takes precedence over this rule.